Arise … 

Arise. The word echoes through my heart.  

Arise. Stand up. Take your place.  Behold what lay ahead and walk forward with confidence.

In my mind I saw a great crowd of faceless men standing before me with arms linked as to form a barricade.  As I stood there I wondered if there was ever going to be a way forward.  Would there ever be progress.  Or would I be stuck?

As a light shone over the faceless crowd, a surge of strength came upon me.  

Arise. It calls again.

Arise and believe. Believe that you can. Believe that you have a place and a purpose in this world.  Believe that noone can thwart the good things that are in store.  Believe that no matter what your past there is comfort and shelter and belonging. You are not to be held back. 

Arise. Stand. Take that step.  

As I stepped out towards the crowd that I had feared for so long, each being took steps back and the crowd parted into two.  Like waves being parted the crowd lined a path through the darkness.  This crowd I feared became a great crowd of witnesses. Witness to my wakening. To courage.  To my standing. 

Arise. Shine.

Perhaps the places we fear to go are in fact the places of our hope and future. 

Perhaps like me you need to be reminded that fear is given power in darkness and that by shining light into those places we can be victorious. 

Perhaps you are the light in that place. 

Arise. Do not fear. 

Peace, Ang xx

Arise, shine, for your light has come, and the glory of the Lord rises upon you … 

Isaiah 60:1

Leave a comment